GROUSE to release first album in 7 years – “HEADS”


After a recent string of releases under different monikers on various labels, Irish musician Ronan Carroll is to release his second “Grouse” album on January 7th 2012.

The new album titled “Heads”,  the follow up to 2005’s “We Want To Be Loved”, will be the first album Carroll has released since returning to his hometown of Dublin after twelve years spent living in San Francisco.

“Grouse has always been my main musical outlet so the fact that it’s been over 7 years since the last album, I’m extremely excited get this new one out there.”

The music on Heads is similar to the downtempo electronica on his debut although, says Ronan, “This one has a more cinematic feel than the first. It’s almost entirely instrumental, simply because that’s the way the tracks evolved.”

Just like the debut, it has a perfect blend of organic and electronic sounds with live guitar, bass, violin and trombone combining with beats and synthesized sounds.

With almost no samples, everything was played/ programmed by Carroll and a few choice guest musicians.

A record release party featuring an eclectic DJ set from Ronan will take place in Pygmalion, South Anne St., Dublin 2, on December 7th.

Look out for tour dates in 2013 from the newly formed Grouse live band.


Heads track list:

1) Interval /

2) Silent Protest /


3) Telegraph /

4) Casanova /

5) Grand Gestures

6) Head /

7) 100 Cuts /

8) Arm The Harmless /

9) Finally